New: 9

9 Teaser Poster

9 is a Tim Burton-produced (with Timur Bekmambetov) post-apocalyptic animated feature film, directed by Shane Acker and starring the voices of Elijah Wood, John C. Reilly, Jennifer Connelly, Martin Landau, Christopher Plummer and Crispin Glover, with music by Danny Elfman.


When 9 (The Lord of the Ring’s Elijah Wood) first comes to life, he finds himself in a post-apocalyptic world. All humans are gone, and it is only by chance that he discovers a small community of others like him taking refuge from fearsome machines that roam the earth intent on their extinction. Despite being the neophyte of the group, 9 convinces the others that hiding will do them no good. They must take the offensive if they are to survive, and they must discover why the machines want to destroy them in the first place. As they’ll soon come to learn, the very future of civilization may depend on them.

Weird creatures! Civilisation in ruin! Giant machines!

Check out the trailer below (or go here to see it in hi-res):

This entry was posted in Animation, Film, Giant Monsters, News, Preview. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New: 9

  1. Robin Pen says:

    This looks very interesting.

  2. Backbrain says:

    It really does, doesn’t it!

  3. Betatest says:

    Uh – *looked* interesting is right. But visuals cannot mask the fact that this animated end of the world flick … is really a dud as far as story goes. It kind of just rambles along to a predictable end and to tell you the truth, the characters really are not memorable. You don’t root for them, cheer them on, or feel sad for them. This is a 10 minute animated short that should have remained a 10 minute animated short – stretching it out for an hour + just wasn’t the proper venue and ruins it. And I wish people would stop associating it heavily with Tim Burton – all Tim did was throw it some cash to fund it. Tim didn’t do anything else on it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.